# **Proposals from C12 at the Fall C & CC Meeting**

- 1. New Members
- 2. Support for Conferences
- 3. IUPAP Prize in Nuclear Physics
- 4. IUPAP Working Group

\_\_\_\_\_

# **Proposed New Members for C12**

Position	Name (Affiliation)	Current composition of C12
Chair	W. F. Henning (GSI, Germany)	S. Nagamiya
Vice Chair	W. T. H. van Oers (Manitoba, Canada)	W. F. Henning
Secretary	H. Sakai (U. Tokyo, Japan)	W. T. H. van Oers
Member	Giovanni Ricco (U. Genoa, Italy)	E. Fiorini
	S. J. Freedman (UC-Berkeley, U.S.A.)	
	Sidney Gales (IN2P3/CNRS)	D. Guerreau
	W. Y. P. Hwang (N. Taiwan U., Taiwan)	
	W. Kutschera (Vienna, Austria)	
	DP. Min (Korea Science Foundation, Kore	ea)
	A. A. Ogloblin (Kurchatov Institute, Russia)	)
	C. Petitjean (PSI, Switzerland)	
	DO. W. Riska (U. Helsinki, Finland)	
	WQ. Shen (National NSF, China)	

## **Proposed Support for Conferences**

### Type A

1) International Nuclear Physics Conference (INPC07)

June 3-8, 2007 Tokyo, Japan Shoji Nagamiya

### Type B (in priority order)

1) International Conference on Nucleus-Nucleus Collisions (NN06)

August 28 – September 1, 2006 Rio de Janeiro, Brazil Mahir S. Hussein

2) International Spin Physics Symposium (SPIN2006)

October 2-7, 2006 Kyoto, Japan Kenichi Imai

3) International Conference on Few-Body Problems in Physics (FB18)

August 21-26, 2006 Santos, Brazil Lauro Tomio

4) International Conference on Nuclei in the Cosmos

June 25-30, 2006 Geneva, Switzerland Alberto Mengoni

### Type C

1) International Conference on Radioactive Nuclear Beams (RNB7)

July 3-7, 2006 Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy Cosimo Signorini

2) International Conference on Quarks and Nuclear Physics (QNP06)

June 5-10, 2006 Madrid, Spain Antonio Dobado

# **Proposed IUPAP Prize in Nuclear Physics**

C12 enthusiastically endorsed the proposed establishment of an IUPAP Prize in Nuclear Physics for younger experimentalists or theorists to be presented every third year at the International Conference on Nuclear Physics.

# **Proposed IUPAP Working Group**

#### **CONTEXT**

At the 2004 meeting of the IUPAP Council and Chairs it was reported that C12 had established an international committee to consider future planning in nuclear physics.

Its role will be similar to that of other IUAP Working Groups. Its work will be directed specifically towards nuclear physics and will not overlap with those areas already covered by other Working Groups, such as ICFA.

Initially it was formed as an ad-hoc committee of C12, but it is now proposed by C12 that it be an IUPAP Working Group.

#### **PROPOSAL**

It is proposed that this committee be formally established as an IUPAP Working Group on International Cooperation in Nuclear Physics.

#### Mandate:

- 1) To provide a description of the landscape of key issues in Nuclear Physics research for the next 10 to 20 years
- 2) To produce (maintain) a compendium of facilities existing or under development worldwide
- 3) To establish a mapping of these facilities onto the scientific questions identified above
- 4) To identify missing components that would have to be developed to provide an optimized, comprehensive network of international facilities
- 5) To explore mechanisms and opportunities for enhancing international collaboration in nuclear science
- 6) To identify R/D projects that could benefit from international joint effort
- 7) To serve as a source of expert advice for governmental or inter- governmental organizations in connection with efforts to coordinate and promote nuclear science at the international level

- 8) To serve as a forum for the discussion of future directions of nuclear science in the broadest sense
- 9) To document the cross-disciplinary impact of Nuclear Physics and of nuclear facilities and to identify mechanisms for expanding (fostering) cross-disciplinary research.

-----

# **Initial Membership**

- A. W. Thomas (Jefferson Laboratory) Chair
- R. F. Casten (2005 NSAC Chair, Yale U.)
- S. H. Aronson (BNL, USA)
- J.-M. Poutissou (TRIUMF, Canada)
- M. N. Harakeh (2005 NuPECC Chair, U. Groningen)
- W.F. Henning (GSI, Germany)
- S. Gales (GANIL, France)
- S. Nagamiya (J-PARC, Japan, Chair of C12)
- M. Motobayashi (RIKEN, Japan)
- Wenlong Zhan (Landzou, China)
- A. A. Ogloblin (Kurchatov Institute, Russia)
- A. Lepine-Szily (Universidade de Sao Paulo, Brazil)
- W. T. H. van Oers (U.Manitoba) Secretary